The Azerbaijan Republic in the Caucasus on the Caspian Sea shares borders with Russia in the north, Georgia, Armenia, in the west and Iran in the south. The Naxcivan exclave borders on Armenia, Iran, and Turkey.

Azerbaycan Respublikasi
(In Detail) (Full size)
National motto:  
Official language Azeri
Capital Baku
Capital's coordinates 40° 22' N, 49° 53' E
President Ilham Aliyev
Prime Minister Artur Rasizade
 - Total
 - % water
Ranked 111th
86,600 kmē
 - Total (2003 E)
 - Density
Ranked 89th
(From Soviet Union)
30 August 1991
Currency Manat (AZM)
Time zone UTC +5 (DST +6)
National anthem National Anthem of the Republic of Azerbaijan
Internet TLD .AZ
Calling Code994

A nation in the Caucasus of Turkic Muslims, it has been an independent republic since the collapse of the Soviet Union in 1991. Despite a cease-fire, in place since 1994, Azerbaijan has yet to resolve its conflict with Armenia over the Azerbaijani Nagorno-Karabakh enclave (largely Armenian populated). Azerbaijan has lost almost 20% of its territory and must support some 750,000 refugees as a result of the conflict. Corruption is ubiquitous and the promise of wealth from Azerbaijan's undeveloped petroleum resources remains largely unfulfilled. Critics of the government of Azerbaijan consider it to be a Kleptocracy.

Table of contents
1 History
2 Politics
3 Administrative divisions
4 Geography
5 Economy
6 Demographics
7 Culture
8 Miscellaneous topics
9 External links and references


Main article: History of Azerbaijan

Historically, Azerbaijan included parts of what is now Iran, and the term is still used locally to describe those regions. Politically, this area is now divided into the Iranian provinces of West Azarbaijan (Azarbayjan-e Gharbi) and East Azerbaijan (Azarbayjan-e Sharqi).


Main article: Politics of Azerbaijan

Administrative divisions

Main article: Administrative divisions of Azerbaijan

Azerbaijan is divided into:

  • 59 rayons (rayonlar; rayon - singular),
  • 11 cities* (saharlar; sahar - singular),
  • 1 autonomous republic** (muxtar respublika);

Abseron Rayonu, Agcabadi Rayonu, Agdam Rayonu, Agdas Rayonu, Agstafa Rayonu, Agsu Rayonu, Ali Bayramli Sahari*, Astara Rayonu, Baki Sahari*, Balakan Rayonu, Barda Rayonu, Beylaqan Rayonu, Bilasuvar Rayonu, Cabrayil Rayonu, Calilabad Rayonu, Daskasan Rayonu, Davaci Rayonu, Fuzuli Rayonu, Gadabay Rayonu, Ganca Sahari*, Goranboy Rayonu, Goycay Rayonu, Haciqabul Rayonu, Imisli Rayonu, Ismayilli Rayonu, Kalbacar Rayonu, Kurdamir Rayonu, Lacin Rayonu, Lankaran Rayonu, Lankaran Sahari*, Lerik Rayonu, Masalli Rayonu, Mingacevir Sahari*, Naftalan Sahari*, Naxcivan Muxtar Respublikasi**, Neftcala Rayonu, Oguz Rayonu, Qabala Rayonu, Qax Rayonu, Qazax Rayonu, Qobustan Rayonu, Quba Rayonu, Qubadli Rayonu, Qusar Rayonu, Saatli Rayonu, Sabirabad Rayonu, Saki Rayonu, Saki Sahari*, Salyan Rayonu, Samaxi Rayonu, Samkir Rayonu, Samux Rayonu, Siyazan Rayonu, Sumqayit Sahari*, Susa Rayonu, Susa Sahari*, Tartar Rayonu, Tovuz Rayonu, Ucar Rayonu, Xacmaz Rayonu, Xankandi Sahari*, Xanlar Rayonu, Xizi Rayonu, Xocali Rayonu, Xocavand Rayonu, Yardimli Rayonu, Yevlax Rayonu, Yevlax Sahari*, Zangilan Rayonu, Zaqatala Rayonu, Zardab Rayonu.


Main article: Geography of Azerbaijan


Main article: Economy of Azerbaijan


Main article: Demographics of Azerbaijan


Main article: Culture of Azerbaijan

DateEnglish NameLocal NameRemarks

Miscellaneous topics

External links and references

Countries of the world  |  Asia  |  Council of Europe