Beihai (北海; Pinyin: Běihǎi, Wade-Giles: Pei-hai), former romanization Pakhoi, is a prefecture-level city of Guangxi, China. Beihai means "north of the sea", meaning that the place is a seaport on the north shore of the Gulf of Tonkin. Beihai has a large shipyard and is reputed to still be a pirate habour.

It governs the islands of Weizhou and Xieyang, and is north of Hainan Island.

Table of contents
1 Subdivision
2 History
3 Sister cities
4 Miscellanea
5 External link


Beihai contains 3 districts and one county, which are subdivided into five urban sub-districts, 23 towns, 3 townships, 87 neighborhood committees, 343 village committees. (see also Political divisions of China#Levels)


After the 1876 Sino-British Treaty of Yantai, eight Western nations (UK, US, Germany, Austria-Hungary, France, Italy, Portugal, and Belgium) set up embassies, hospitals, churches, schools, and maritime customs. Today, 15 of these western buildings remain in Beihai. It officially became an international tourist spot (旅遊對外開放城市) in 1982.


  • December 4, 1949: Beihai became a communist town of Hepu County.
  • January 1951: a province-administered city of Guangdong
  • May 1951: entrusted to Guangxi
  • March 1952: officially administered by Guangxi
  • May 1955: Administered by Guangdong again
  • 1856: reduced to a county-level city
  • 1958: reduced to Beihai People's Commune (人民公社) of Hepu County
  • 1959: county-class town
  • 1964: restored to county-class city
  • June 1965: Administered by Guangxi again
  • October 1983: restored to prefecture-level city

Sister cities


Beihai has a great higher high tides at September 1, with the tides being 5 metres (16 feet). Most ports have around 2 metres of higher high tide; Honolulu has 0.5 metre.

External link