Glen David Brin (born October 6 1950) is a well known American author of science fiction. He is the winner of both the Hugo and Nebula Awards. He lives in Southern California, has a Ph.D. in astrophysics, and has been both a NASA consultant and a physics professor.

His Uplift series and trilogy are well recognised and deal with the concept of a huge galactic civilization responsible for "uplifting" all known intelligent forms of oxygen breathing life. Humanity within the context of these novels represents an anomaly since there is no known "patron" species responsible for their uplift and hence they lack a basic understanding and appreciation of the subtleties of galactic culture.

The Uplift Series

  • Sundiver (1980)
  • Startide Rising (1983)
  • The Uplift War (1987)
  • The New Uplift Trilogy:
    • Brightness Reef (1995)
    • Infinity's Shore (1996)
    • Heaven's Reach (1998) ISBN 0553574736
  • There is also an Uplift supplement for the roleplaying game GURPS allowing players to play out adventures in the universe detailed in these novels. This supplement was not written by David Brin, but was based solely on his works.

Other well known works by David Brin include his books set in Asimov's Foundation Universe:
  • Foundation's Triumph (1999)
  • Secret Foundations (1999)

and his stand alone novels: His short fiction has been collected in:
  • The River of Time (1986)
  • Otherness (1994)


External links