The Eastern League is a minor league baseball league which operates primarily in the northeastern United States, although it now has a team in Ohio. The league was founded in 1923 as the New York-Pennsylvania League. In 1936 the first team outside of the two original states was created, when the York, Pennsylvania team moved to Trenton, New Jersey. When, in 1938, the Scranton, Pennsylvania team moved to Hartford, Connecticut, the league was renamed as the Eastern League.

Since 1923, there have been Eastern League teams in 51 different cities located in 12 different states and two Canadian provinces. In 1999, the league expanded to twelve teams, and split into two divisions, the Northern Division and the Southern Division.

Member teams:

  • Akron Aeros - Southern Division
  • Altoona Curve - Southern Division
  • Binghamton Mets - Northern Division
  • Bowie Baysox - Southern Division
  • Erie SeaWolves - Southern Division
  • Harrisburg Senators - Southern Division
  • New Britain Rock Cats - Northern Division
  • New Hampshire Fisher Cats - Northern Division
  • Norwich Navigators - Northern Division
  • Portland Sea Dogs - Northern Division
  • Reading Phillies - Southern Division
  • Trenton Thunder - Northern Division