For other meanings of "Harbin", see Harbin.

Harbin (Simplified: 哈尔滨, Traditional: 哈爾濱, pinyin: hā'ĕrbīn) is a sub-provincial city in north-east China and the capital of the Heilongjiang Province. It is located on the southern bank of Songhua River.

It is nicknamed "The Pearl on the swan's neck" because the shape of Heilongjiang resembles a swan.

Table of contents
1 Subdivisions
2 History


7 districts:
  • Daoli (道里区)
  • Nangang (南岗区)
  • Dongli (动力区)
  • Pingfang (平房区)
  • Xiangfang (香坊区)
  • Taiping (太平区)
  • Daowai (道外区)

4 county-level cities:
  • Acheng (阿城市)
  • Shangzhi (尚志市)
  • Shuangcheng (双城市)
  • Wuchang (五常市)

8 counties:
  • Hulan (呼兰县)
  • Zhengfang (方正县)
  • Bing (宾县)
  • Yilan (依兰县)
  • Bayan (巴彦县)
  • Tonghe (通河县)
  • Mulan (木兰县)
  • Yanshou (延寿县)


Harbin was settled in 2200 BC (late
Stone Age). It is formerly Pinkiang. Japanese troops occupied Harbin during World War II starting on February 4, 1932.

The eight 8 Harbin counties were originally in Songhuajiang Prefecture (松花江地区), and were incorporated into Harbin on August 11, 1999, making Harbin a prefecture-level city.

Colleges and universities