The Irish language is a minority language in Northern Ireland, known in Irish as Tuaisceart Éireann or na Sé Contae (the six counties).

Irish received official recognition in Northern Ireland for the first time under the Good Friday Agreement. A cross-border body known as Foras na Gaeilge was established to promote the language in both Northern Ireland and the Republic, taking over the functions of Bord na Gaeilge.

External Links