James Herriot is the pen name of James Alfred Wight (October 3, 1916 - February 23, 1995). Wight was a vet (animal doctor) who worked in Yorkshire, England, but was better known as the author of a series of books about his life working as a vet and training in the RAF during the Second World War.

The books, which told of many comic incidents in his career working for farmers and townsfolk in Yorkshire, were exceptionally popular, and by the time of his death he was one of the UK's best-selling authors. The books were made into two films and a major BBC television series. The popularity of the books and the adaptations have inspired many to become veterinarians themselves.

Works include:

  • If Only They Could Talk (1970)
  • It Shouldn't Happen to a Vet (1972)
  • Let Sleeping Vets Lie (1973)
  • Vet in Harness (1974)
  • Vets Might Fly (1976)
  • Vet in a Spin (1977)
  • James Herriot's Yorkshire (1979)
  • The Lord God Made Them All (1981)
  • Every Living Thing (1992)

Omnibus editions:

  • All Creatures Great and Small (1972) (incorporating If Only They Could Talk/It Shouldn't Happen to a Vet)
  • All Things Bright and Beautiful (1974) (Let Sleeping Vets Lie/Vet in Harness)
  • All Things Wise and Wonderful (1977) (Vets Might Fly/Vet in a Spin)

External links

Official tribute http://www.hambleton.gov.uk/hambleton/herriot.nsf/pages/herriot.html The World of James Herriot] -- scenes form Herriot's life in Thirsk Fan site