LFO (Low Frequency Oscillation) is an English techno group on the Warp Records label. LFO was one of the pioneers of the harsh techno of the early 1990s. Originally comprising Gez Varley and Mark Bell, they met while studying at Leeds and gave their first track, the eponymous "LFO", to Nightmares On Wax. The demo's popularity in clubs lead to the track being released by Warp in 1990 (see 1990 in music), where it made it into the Top Twenty, then-Radio 1 DJ Steve Wright declared it was the worst record he had ever heard.

Signed to Tommy Boy in the US the duo did remix work on Afrika Bambaataa's Planet Rock and LFO went on to work with Bjork, Radiohead, Depeche Mode, Kraftwerk, Laurent Garnier, and Andrew Weatherall (The Sabres Of Paradise). Bell left in 1997 to form Feedback with Simon Hartley (Wildplanet) and later went on to record as G-Man, leaving Varley as LFO.


  • Frequencies (1991)
  • Advance (1996)
  • Sheath (2002)

LFO (Lyte Funky Ones) is a three-man
pop group consisting of Richard Cronin, Devin Lima, and Bradley Fischetti. As of 19 July 2003, they are on an indefinite hiatus so that the members can work on other projects. Their sound is a combination of R&B, rap and pop, and they had moderate success in the late 1990s to early 2000s.


See also: Bad Mood Mike