The Minnesota Vikings are a National Football League team based in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Founded: 1961 (NFL expansion)
Home stadium: Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome, Minneapolis
Former stadium: Metropolitan Stadium (1961-1981)
Uniform colors: Purple and Gold (or White, Purple and Gold)
Helmet design: purple with a white viking horn
League championships won: NFL 1969
Super Bowl appearances: IV (lost), VIII (lost), IX (lost), XI (lost)

Franchise history

Players of note

Pro Football Hall of Famers: Current stars:
  • Daunte Culpepper
  • Randy Moss

Retired numbers: Not to be forgotten:
  • Matt Blair
  • Cris Carter
  • Jack Del Rio
  • Joe Kapp
  • Tommy Kramer
  • Gary Anderson
Minnesota Vikings official web site