Perthshire is an historic county in central Scotland, which extends from Strathmore in the east, to the Pass of Drumochter in the north, Rannoch Moor and Ben Lui in the west, and Aberfoyle in the south. Perthshire is known as the "big county" and has a wide variety of landscapes, from the rich agricultural straths in the east, to the high mountains of the southern Highlands. Perthshire was an unitary local government area until 1974, when a reorganisation of local government took place. During the 1974 re-organisation, some administrative boundaries were changed, and West Perthshire (the area of west and south of Killin including Callander, Crianlarich and Aberfoyle) was transferred to the neighbouring administrative area of administrative Stirlingshire. The smaller 1974 boundary was retained in 1995 when the two-tier system was abandoned, and the unitary council of Perth and Kinross replaced Perth and Kinross District Council and Tayside Region. However, the Perthshire County boundary is still used, including for the purposes of land registration, and for postal addresses. Perthshire extends to 5300 km2.

Besides Perth, other towns in Perthshire include:

Famous places:
  • Blair Castle
  • Scone Palace
  • Near Strathtay and Strathmore many four posters can be found
  • Meikleour beech hedge - highest in the world
  • Birnam Wood and Dunsinane Hill, famous from Shakespeare's Macbeth

Famous people: Main Industries: Rivers:
  • River Tay
  • River Earn
  • River Tummel
  • River Isla

  • Ben Lawers
  • Schiehallion
  • Ben Vorlich
  • Ben More
  • Beinn Dearg
  • Beinn a' Gloe
  • Ben Vrackie

Glens and straths:
  • Glen Almond
  • Glen Isla
  • Glen Shee
  • Glen Garry
  • Glen Tilt
  • Glen Bruar
  • Glen Errochty
  • Glen Rannoch
  • Glen Lyon
  • Glen Lochay
  • Glen Dochart
  • Strathmore
  • Strath Ardle
  • Strath Braan
  • Strath Tay
  • Strath Tummel
  • Strath Fillan
  • Strath Earn

See Perth and Kinross, Highland Perthshire, Stirlingshire, Trossachs and Scottish Highlands.

External links