The number of provinces of Indonesia has tended to increase as new provinces have been split from existing territories. As of January 2003 there appear to be 28 provinces (propinsi-propinsi, singular - propinsi), 2 special regions* (daerah-daerah istimewa, singular - daerah istimewa), and 1 special capital city district** (daerah khusus ibukota)

  • Bali
  • New Guinea
    • Papua, renamed from Irian Jaya in December 2001. A proposal to split this into Papua Barat (West Papua), Papua Tengah (Central Papua) and Papua Timur (East Papua) appears to have not been implemented.

  • Java
  • Kalimantan
    • Kalimantan Barat (West Kalimantan)
    • Kalimantan Selatan (South Kalimantan)
    • Kalimantan Tengah (Central Kalimantan)
    • Kalimantan Timur (East Kalimantan)

  • Maluku
    • Maluku
    • Maluku Utara (North Maluku)

  • Nusa Tenggara
    • Nusa Tenggara Barat (West Nusa Tenggara)
    • Nusa Tenggara Timur (East Nusa tenggara)

  • Sulawesi
  • Sumatra
    • Aceh*
    • Bangka-Belitung
    • Bengkulu
    • Jambi
    • Lampung
    • Riau
    • Riau Kepulauan (or Kepulauan Riau, Riau Archipelago or Riau Islands), appears to have been created in 2002 - [1], [1]
    • Sumatera Barat (West Sumatra)
    • Sumatera Selatan (South Sumatra)
    • Sumatera Utara (North Sumatra)

External link