The Secretary for Scotland was the former title of the chief minister in charge of the Scotland Office in the United Kingdom government. The post of Secretary of State for Scotland existed briefly after the union of the English and Scottish parliaments in 1707 till the Jacobite rebellion of 1745. After the rebellion, responsibility for Scotland lay primarily with the office of the Home Secretary, usually exercised by the Lord Advocate. 1885 saw the creation of the Scotland Office and the post of Secretary for Scotland. From 1892 the Secretary for Scotland sat in cabinet, but the position was not officially recognised as a full cabinet member until the post of Secretary of State for Scotland was recreated in 1926.

Secretaries for Scotland (1885-1926)

  • Charles Henry Gordon-Lennox, 6th Duke of Richmond (1885-1886)
  • Sir George Otto Trevelyan(1886)
  • John William Ramsay, 13th Earl of Dalhousie (1886)
  • Arthur James Balfour (1886-1887)
  • Schomberg Henry Kerr, 9th Marquess of Lothian (1887-1892)
  • Sir George Otto Trevelyan (1892-1895)
  • Alexander Hugh Bruce, 6th Lord Balfour of Burleigh (1895-1903)
  • Andrew Graham Murray (1903-1905)
  • John Hope, 1st Marquess of Linlithgow (1905)
  • John Sinclair, 1st Baron Pentland (1905-1912)
  • Thomas MacKinnon-Wood (1912-1916)
  • Harold John Tennant (1916)
  • Robert Munro (1916-1922)
  • Robert Munro-Ferguson, 1st Viscount Novar (1922-1924)
  • William Adamson (1924)
  • Sir John Gilmour (1924-1926)