Steve Earle (born January 17, 1955) is a country musician who grew up in Shertz, Texas. He was born in Ft. Monroe, Virginia and was the eldest son of an air traffic controller. He dropped out of school in 8th grade to move to Austin, Texas and learn more about the music business. As of 2003, he had released the following albums:
  • 1986: Guitar Town
  • 1987: Early Tracks
  • 1987: Exit 0
  • 1988: Copperhead Road
  • 1990: The Hard Way
  • 1991: Shut Up And Die Like An Aviator
  • 1995: Train A-Comin'
  • 1996: I Feel Alright
  • 1997: El Corazon
  • 1999: The Mountain
  • 2000: Transcendental Blues
  • 2002: Side Tracks
  • 2002: Jerusalem

Earle managed to land himself in trouble by writing a song about John Walker Lindh ("John Walker's Blues" on Jerusalem) written from Lindh's perspective. Some critics had trouble comprehending that a songwriter is not necessarily the character they're describing and branded Earle a traitor and a Taliban supporter. The controversy did however manage to raise Earle's profile in the media and didn't seem to damage his record sales in the slightest.

External Links

Steve Earle Home page