See also Russia#Subdivisions

Russia consists of 7 federal districts, that are divided into 89 "subjects". These subjects are of equal federative rights in the sense that they have equal representation (2 delegates each) to the Federative Council of Russia.

There are different kinds of "subjects":

  • 21 autonomous Republics: They have an own constitution and legislative and are in fact independent states just being represented by Russia in external affairs.
  • 1 autonomous oblast
  • 10 autonomous district
  • 6 regions
  • 49 Oblasts
  • 2 federal cities

Table of contents
1 Federal districts
2 Autonomous republics
3 Other Subjects
4 External links

Federal districts

Autonomous republics

Federal district in brackets

Other Subjects

Northwestern Russian federal district

Central Russian federal district

Northern Caucasus federal district

  • Krasnodar Region
  • Stavropol Region
  • Astrakhan Oblast
  • Volgograd Oblast
  • Rostov Oblast

Volga federal district

  • Kirov Oblast
  • Nizhny Novgorod Oblast
  • Orenburg Oblast
  • Penza Oblast
  • Perm Oblast
  • Samara Oblast
  • Saratov Oblast
  • Ulyanovsk Oblast
  • Autonomous district of the Komi-Permyaks

Urals federal district

  • Kurgan Oblast
  • Sverdlovsk Oblast
  • Tyumen Oblast
  • Chelyabinsk Oblast
  • Autonomous district of the Khants and Mansis
  • Autonomous district of the Yamal Nenetses

Siberian federal district

Russian Far East federal district

See also: List of capitals of subnational entities

External links