Tegucigalpa, population 897,000 (1997), is the capital of Honduras and the republic's largest city. The city is located in a valley of the same name at an elevation of 3,250 feet. Tegucigalpa is also the capital of Honduras' Francisco Morazán Department.

The city's industries include textiles, sugar, and cigarettes. Tegucigalpa was founded in the 16th century, and was a center of silver and gold mining. The capital of the independent Republic of Honduras switched back and forth between Tegucigalpa and Comayagua until it was permanently settled at Tegucigalpa in 1880. The National Autonomous University of Honduras was established here in 1847. The National Museum here has a notable collection of Pre-Columbian artifacts. In the 1930s the town of Comayagüela (on the other side of the Choluteca River from central Tegucigalpa) was incorporated into the city.

The city was significantly damaged by a hurricane in 1998.