Wellington College is a state school for boys located next to Government House and the Basin Reserve in Wellington, New Zealand. It is a day school for boys aged 13 (Form III or Year 9) to 18 (Form VII or Year 13) [1]. Wellington College was also a boarding school, until the College’s sole boarding house, Firth House was demolished in 1981.

Wellington College was founded originally as the Wellington Grammar School in 1853 under a Deed of Endowment granted by the then Governor Sir George Grey. The original site of the Grammar School was on Wellington Terrace, near the present Wellington Motorway, and instruction began there in 1867.

On October 17 1874 the school opened for instruction at its present site next to Government House. Some time after, the Grammar School became affiliated to the University of New Zealand, granting the School the privilege of naming itself a College, becoming Wellington College.

The present College now educates roughly 1,400 boys, some from the school zone imposed on the College by the Government in 2003. Boys within the zone have automatic right of entry into the College.

As of July 2003, the current Head Master of the College is R.J. (Roger) Moses who succeeded H.G. (Harvey) Rees-Thomas in 1995. The Visitor of the College is the Governor General of New Zealand.

Old Wellingtonians

General Officers (Military): Probably the most illustrious Old Wellingtonian is Lieutenant General Sir Benard Freyberg (Lord Freyberg of Wellington), who won a Victoria Cross in World War I and also served as Governor General. Air Marshals Sir Arthur Coningham and Sir Roderick Carr served in RAF Bomber Command during World War II, the latter also serving as Air Officer Commanding, India in 1946.

Governors and Governors General: Four Old Wellingtonians have served as Governor General of New Zealand and one as a British Governor. These old boys are Governors General Lord Freyberg (see above), Sir Denis Blundell, Sir Paul Reeves, Sir Michael Hardie-Boys and Governor Sir Ralph Grey (Lord Grey of Naunton).

Some of the other well known old boys include Sir William Pickering, Sir Brian Barratt-Boyes, Sir Ron Brierley, Sir Francis Renouf, Sir Louis Barnett and Keith Quinn.

External link

1. What is known as the "Upper Sixth Form" in the UK is known as "Form VII" in New Zealand and thus the "Lower Sixth Form" is just "Form VI". Otherwise, the English system is usually followed -- See school years.