Edith Mary Pargeter (1913 - 1995) was a prolific British author of works in many categories, especially history and historical fiction, and was also honored for her translations of Czech classics; she is probably best known for her murder mysteries, both historical and modern. Born in the village of Horsehay (Shropshire, England), she had Welsh ancestry, and many of her short stories and books (both fictional and non-fictional) were set in Wales and its borderlands.

Under the penname Ellis Peters she wrote the highly popular series of Brother Cadfael medieval mysteries, many of which were made into films for television.

Table of contents
1 Bibliography


Edith Pargeter

The Heaven Tree Trilogy

The Brothers of Gwynedd Quartet

Four novels about Llywelyn the Last:

  • Sunrise in the West (1974)
  • The Dragon at Noonday (1975)
  • The Hounds of Sunset (1976)
  • Afterglow and Nightfall (1977)


"Ellis Peters"

George Felse and Family

Brother Cadfael

See Brother Cadfael for the full list of books and stories, plus radio and TV adaptations.


"John Redfern"

  • The Victim Needs a Nurse (c.1940)

"Jolyon Carr"

  • Murder in the Dispensary (1938)
  • Freedom for Two (1939)
  • Masters of the Parachute Mail (1940)
  • Death Comes by Post (1940)

"Peter Benedict"

  • Day Star (1937)