European Environment Agency (EEA), agency of the European Union devoted to establishing a monitoring network for the monitoring of the European environment. It is governed by a Management Board composed of representatives of the governments of member states, a European Commission representative and two scientists appointed by the European Parliament, assisted by a committee of scientists.

It was established by EEC Regulation 1210/1990, as ammended by EEC Regulation 933/1999; and became operational in 1994. It is headquartered in Copenhagen, Denmark.

As a EU body, member states of the European Union are automatically members; however the Council Regulation establishing it provided that other states may become members of it by means of agreements concluded between them and the European Community.

As of 2003 has 31 members. Was first EU body to open its membership to the 13 candidate countries. As of 2003 membership is:

  • 15 EU member states
  • EEA members (Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein)
  • Candidate countries: Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Romania, Solvenia, Slovakia, Turkey.
Negotiations on membership in progress with Switzerland.

[Are their negotiations or associate membership with the Stability Pact states?]