The Gabonese Republic, or Gabon, is a nation of west central Africa. Ruled by autocratic presidents since independence from France on August 17, 1960, Gabon introduced a multiparty system and a new constitution in the early 1990s that allowed for a more transparent electoral process and for reforms of governmental institutions. A small population, abundant natural resources, and foreign private investment have helped make Gabon one of the more prosperous black African countries.

République Gabonaise
coat of arms
(In Detail) (Full size)
National motto: Xxxxx
Official language French
Capital Libreville
Capital´s coordinates 0° 30' N, 9° 32' E
PresidentEl Hadj Omar Bongo
 - Total
 - % water
Ranked 74th
267,667 km²
xx% / Negligible
 - Total (July 1995 est.)
 - Density
Ranked 148th
 - Declared
 - Recognised
(From France)
August 17 1960
Currency CFA franc
Time zone UTC +1 (DST, yes or not)
National anthem La Concorde
Internet TLD .GA
Calling Code241

Table of contents
1 History
2 Politics
3 Provinces
4 Geography
5 Economy
6 Demographics
7 Culture
8 Indigenous diseases to be careful about..
9 Miscellaneous topics
10 External links


Main article: History of Gabon

France occupied Gabon in 1885 but did not administer it until 1903. In 1910, Gabon became one of the four territories of French Equatorial Africa, a federation that survived until 1959. The territories became independent on August 17, 1960


Main article: Politics of Gabon

In March 1991 a new constitution was adopted, among its provisions are a Western-style bill of rights; creation of a National Council of Democracy, which oversees the guarantee of those rights; a governmental advisory board on economic and social issues; Multi-party legislative elections were held in 1990-91, despite the fact that opposition parties had not been declared formally legal.

President El Hadj Omar Bongo was re-elected in December 1998, with 66% of the votes cast. Although the main opposition parties claimed the elections had been manipulated, there was none of the civil disturbance that followed the 1993 election. The president retains strong powers, such as authority to dissolve the National Assembly, declare a state of siege, delay legislation, conduct referenda, and appoint and dismiss the prime minister and cabinet members.


Main article: Provinces of Gabon

Gabon in divided administratively into nine provinces

  • Estuaire
  • Haut Ogooué
  • Moyen Ogooué
  • Ngounie
  • Nyanga
  • Ogooué-Ivindo
  • Ogooué-Lolo
  • Ogooué-Maritime
  • Woleu Ntem


Main article:
Geography of Gabon
  • List of places in Gabon

Gabon is located on the Atlantic coast of central Africa. Clockwise from the northwest, it is bounded by Equatorial Guinea, Cameroon, and the Republic of Congo.

Gabon's largest river is the Ogooué. Gabon is also noted for efforts to preserve the natural environment with what may be the largest area of nature parks in the world.


Main article: Economy of Gabon


Main article: Demographics of Gabon


Main article: Culture of Gabon

Indigenous diseases to be careful about..

Gabon has been in the news the past few years due to outbreaks of the Ebola virus.

Miscellaneous topics

External links

Countries of the world  |  Africa