The Malay Peninsula is located at the south east corner of the Asian continent. It runs approximately north-south and contains the most southerly point of the Asian continent. The southwest coast is separated from the island of Sumatra by the Strait of Malacca. To the east is the island of Borneo.

The area is divided politically:

  • the northwest is the extreme south part of Myanmar
  • the central region and northeast is the south part of Thailand
  • most of the south is the part of Malaysia called West Malaysia or Peninsular Malaysia (which should not be confused with the larger Malay Peninsula).
  • the southern tip is the independent republic of Singapore.

In 1911 two of the aboriginal tribes were the Semang, who are Negrito, and the Sakai. Neither are currently Bumiputra under the laws of Malaysia.