The Monarchist League of Canada is an organization of Canadians formed in 1970 whose object is to support the Canadian Constitutional Monarchy.

Over 20 branches exist across Canada, many under the patronage of Lieutenant-Governorss, with membership drawn from citizens who also finance the League, which receives no public subsidies.

Table of contents
1 History
2 Aims And Principles
3 See also
4 External Links


In the 1960s Canadians (English- and French-speaking) wished to assert their distinctiveness. Many of these nationalistss repudiated the Monarchy in their attempt to produce a new Canada. They achieved quick prominence and began to publicize their views. Their attack on the symbols and substance of the Crown produced a public reaction in its defense. The republicans found little public support, and their opponents formed the Monarchist League of Canada in order to educate civil servants, bureaucrats, politicians, social leaders and the populace at large on the benefits of remaining under the Crown.

Aims And Principles

  • To bring together Canadians of diverse ethnic backgrounds, political affiliations, religious loyalties and varied occupations in order to promote loyalty and respect for the Queen of Canada and understanding of the Constitutional Monarchy
  • To promote and engage in the study of the concept of Monarchy, the roles of the Crown in the Canadian system of democratic government and the formative influence of the Royal Family on Canadian society
  • To foster appreciation of the value of the Monarchy amongst students and to promote its study in educational institutions
  • To inform the Canadian public of the contemporary and historical importance of the Monarchy for the Canadian identity through displays, speakers, festivals, media appearances, publications and related activities

See also

External Links