The Nineteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution was passed by the United States Congress on June 4, 1919, and was ratified on August 18, 1920. It granted women the right to vote. It reads:

The right of citizens of the United States to vote shall not be denied or abridged by the United States or by any State on account of sex.

Congress shall have power to enforce this article by appropriate legislation.

On February 27, 1922, a challenge to the 19th Amendment was rebuffed by the Supreme Court of the United States.

See also

External link

18th Amendment Amendments
United States Constitution
20th Amendment