Tibet is a region of Central Asia and the home of the Tibetan people. In the People's Republic of China, the majority of Tibet is in Tibetan Autonomous Region (Xizang). See also Government of Tibet in Exile.

Other names:

Table of contents
1 History
2 Geography
3 Transport
4 Culture
5 External links


Main article: History of Tibet


Main article: Geography of Tibet

Tibet consists of several regions:

  • Amdo (a mdo) in northeast → the provinces of Qinghai, part of Gansu and part of Sichuan
  • Kham (khams) in east → part of Sichuan, northern Yunnan and part of Qinghai
  • U (dbus) in center → part of Tibetan Autonomous Region
  • Tsang (gtsang) in west → part of Tibetan Autonomous Region

(See also Provinces of China)

In the wide sense, Tibet also includes Bhutan, Sikkim and Ladakh.

Several majors rivers have their source in Tibet, including:


See Transportation in China.


The Tibetan people speak Tibetan language and write the Tibetan written language.

Tibet is the traditional center of Vajrayana, a distinctive form of Buddhism. Before 1959, Tibet was a theocracy led by the Dalai Lama, who now lives in exile and is internationally seen by many people as being a spokesman for the Tibetan people.

Tibet is also home for spiritual tradition called Bn (alternative spelling: Bon).

External links

Further Reading

  • Virtual Tibet: Searching for Shangri-La from the Himalayas to Hollywood, Orville Schell, Henry Holt, 2000, hardcover, 340 pages, ISBN 0805043810

Editing tools:
  • The 1911 Encyclopaedia: Info on geography, climate, flora, people, language, literature, writing, and history. (Scroll down pass TIBESTI)