(Image to come)
Motto: Concordia cum veritate
Chancellor Mike Lazaridis
President David L. Johnston
School type Public
Religious affiliation Main campus: None
Conrad Grebel: Mennonite
Renison: Anglican
St. Jerome's: Catholic
St. Paul's: United
Founded 1957
Location Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Enrollment 21 550 undergraduate
2485 graduate
Campus surroundings Urban
Campus size 405 hectares
Sports teams Warriors
Mascot Warrior

The University of Waterloo, also known as "UW" or simply "Waterloo", is an accredited public university in the city of Waterloo, Ontario Canada. The 2003 enrollment was 21 550 undergraduate, and 2485 graduate students with 787 full-time faculty members. The university was founded in 1957.

The university has been a groundbreaking proponent of co-operative education with university organized work terms in industry contributing to student experience, and providing financial support for students.

The university includes the faculties of Applied Health Sciences, Arts, Engineering, Environmental Studies, Independent Studies, Mathematics, and Science as well as an on-campus school of Optometry. There are also four affiliated church colleges on campus: St. Jerome's University (Roman Catholic), Renison College (Anglican), St. Paul's United College (United Church of Canada), and Conrad Grebel University College (Mennonite).

With strong programs in mathematics, computer science, and engineering, the University has at times been touted as the MIT of Canada.


The University of Waterloo was originally conceived in 1955 as the Waterloo College Associate Faculties (WCAF), a semi-autonomous entity within Waterloo College (now Wilfrid Laurier University). The school began classes in 1957, and two years later became the University of Waterloo.

See Also: List of Ontario Universities

External Link