Hohhot (呼和浩特 Pinyin: Hūhhot), occasionally spelled Huhehot, is the capital city of the Inner Mongolian Autonomous Region of the People's Republic of China.

The name "Hohhot" is Mongolian for "a green city".

Table of contents
1 History
2 Geography
3 Administration
4 Demographics
5 Culture
6 Artifacts


Until 1954, Hohhot had been called in China as Guisui (歸綏 Guīsuī), or Kweisui, which is the acronym of the two districts of the city:
  • Guihua (歸化): Southeastern old section, business district, established as a town in the Wanli era of the Ming Dynasty
  • Suiyuan (綏遠): Northeastern "New Town", government district. Established in the 17th century by the Manchus.

The two sections later became Guihua District (歸化縣) of the Qing Empire, renamed to Guisui County (歸綏縣) in 1913, and upgraded to a city in 1950.

It was the capital of the defunct Suiyuan Province.


Located in the southern central part of Inner Mongolia.


9 county-level bannerss (旗县区), 20 street offices (街道办事处), 96 townships (乡镇).


11% Mongols, rest is mostly Han, with Korean, Hui, and Manchu minority.


Inner Mongolian University is in Hohhot.


There are over 50 sets of murals in southeastern Hohhot, including a "Horse-tending Image" (牧 馬 圖). Over 50 pre-modern Buddhist temples and towers.

Cemetery of Zhaojun dates back to the Han Dynasty.